7. May 2018

A new website – the long way that has been worth it

Mission accomplished! Or not, after all? I think that nowadays, a good corporate homepage has to be checked on an almost daily basis and that adaptations are always required. Nonetheless, there was such a date when I felt hugely elated and when my beaming face was a token of relief and pride at the same time.

On 8 January 2018, we launched the new website for the Law & Management team, and our hard work was made available to the general public at the push of the reset button at last. What in technical terms is a small job – the IP address must be adapted on the University’s homepage – was a big step for me and our entire team – a big step into the modern future.

The whole thing started almost a year earlier. We needed a new homepage, our website had become obsolete, the page had only partially been translated into English, and we won’t even speak about the layout. But where should we start and what would we like to change? What do our clients and visitors expect? What information is important for our future executive education participants? How will we manage to appear human and likeable in spite of the machine? In order to be able to answer those questions, and many more to boot, we depended on a competent, reliable and creative partner. We felt we were in good hands with the Zeughaus agency, to whom I would like to extend our thanks on this occasion. Cooperation was and still is great, and we had the fixed target always in our sights.

When it came to editing the many texts and think of all the details, I always depended on the great support provided by my team. Furthermore, I tried to change perspectives all the time, to assume an outsider’s viewpoint and to free myself of inside knowledge and operational blindness. This was not always easy, and there were a number of setbacks and further stumbling blocks that had to be removed. The possibilities for a new website are almost unlimited. I was fascinated by the programmer’s work, but it was precisely this which turned out to be a challenge time and again. Many navigation variants are a matter of opinion and subjectively better than others – or are we just used to them from other websites? What’s right and what’s wrong? Is there a right and wrong in the first place? We had to make some compromises – in the team, too – to ensure that, if possible, everybody would find their way about our new website, which should also become highly visible (as the saying goes).

This was a great challenge for me and an exciting time during which I gained a great deal of valuable experience. And it’s going on! At the moment we are busy shooting more video clips, extending the blog continually and testing the website for its user-friendliness. Also, new marketing activities for our executive education programmes for lawyers and corporate managers, people interested in compliance or negotiators are always linked up with the main instrument – our website. The (long) way has been worth it! Probably a project for life, or when will we relaunch our whole website again?

I am delighted if you spend some time on our website and are interested in our various executive education programmes at the interface between law and business.

But I’d also be grateful for any constructive feedback. After all, live and learn!

 

Photo by Charlie Deets on Unsplash

Don't miss our updates

Don't miss our updates - sign up to our weekly newsletter.

Please wait...

Thank you for signing up to our updates!

7. Mai 2018

Neuer Webauftritt – der lange Weg, der sich lohnt

Geschafft! Oder doch nicht? Ich glaube, dass in der heutigen Zeit, eine gute Firmenhomepage fast täglich überprüft werden muss und Anpassungen stets nötig sind. Aber trotzdem hat es so ein Datum gegeben, wo ich einfach eine riesen grosse Freude verspürte und das Strahlen in meinem Gesicht ein Zeichen von Erleichterung und Stolz zugleich war.

Am 8. Januar 2018 führten wir den Launch der neuen Website des Law & Management Teams durch und die harte Arbeit, wurde mit dem ‚Refresh-Button‘ endlich der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht. Was technisch gesehen ein kleiner Aufwand ist – die IP Adresse muss bei der Hauptseite der Universität angepasst werden – war für mich und unser gesamtes Team ein grosser Schritt. Ein grosser Schritt in die moderne Zukunft.

Angefangen hat das Ganze aber fast ein Jahr früher. Wir brauchen eine neue Homepage, unser Auftritt ist veraltet, die Seite ist nur teilweise ins Englische übersetzt und vom Layout sprechen wir schon gar nicht. Aber wo beginnt man und was möchten wir alles verändern? Was erwarten unsere Kunden und Besucherinnen und Besucher? Welche Informationen sind für unsere zukünftigen Weiterbildungsteilnehmenden wichtig? Wie schaffen wir es, trotz Maschine, menschlich und sympathisch aufzutreten? Um alle diese Fragen und noch viele mehr zu beantworten, waren wir auf einen kompetenten, zuverlässigen und kreativen Partner angewiesen. Wir fühlten uns bei der Agentur Zeughaus gut aufgehoben, wofür ich mich an dieser Stelle herzlich bedanken möchte. Es war und ist immer noch eine tolle Zusammenarbeit mit dem festgelegten Ziel stets im Fokus.

Wenn es darum ging, die vielen Texte zu redigieren oder an alle Details zu denken, war ich auf die grossartige Unterstützung in meinem Team angewiesen. Ausserdem versuchte ich, stets die Perspektive zu wechseln, die Aussensicht anzunehmen und mich möglichst vom Insiderwissen und der Firmenblindheit zu lösen. Das war nicht immer einfach und es gab auch immer mal wieder Rückschritte und weitere Stolpersteine, die aus dem Weg zu räumen waren. Die Möglichkeiten einer neuen Homepage sind fast unendlich. Ich war fasziniert von der Arbeit des Programmierers aber genau das ist auch immer wieder zur Herausforderung geworden. Viele Navigationsvarianten sind Ansichtssache und subjektiv besser als andere – oder ist man es sich einfach so von anderen Homepages gewohnt? Was ist richtig, was ist falsch? Gibt es überhaupt ein Richtig oder ein Falsch? Es mussten einige Kompromisse getroffen werden – auch im Team – damit sich möglichst alle auf unserer neuen Homepage zurechtfinden. Unsere Seite sollte ja auch gut sichtbar werden (wie das so schön heisst).

Für mich war es eine grosse Herausforderung und eine spannende Zeit, in der ich wertvolle Erfahrungen sammeln konnte. Und es geht weiter! Im Moment beschäftigen wir uns damit, weitere Videos zu drehen, den Blog laufend zu erweitern, die Homepage auf ihre Nutzerfreundlichkeit zu testen. Auch neue Vermarktungsaktivitäten unserer Weiterbildungsangebote für Juristen oder Führungspersonen von Unternehmungen, Compliance Interessierte oder Verhandlungspersönlichkeiten werden immer verknüpft mit dem Hauptinstrument – unsere Homepage. Der (lange) Weg hat sich gelohnt! Wahrscheinlich ein Lebensprojekt oder wann werden wir wohl die gesamte Homepage wieder neu launchen??

Ich freue mich, wenn ihr Zeit auf unserer spannenden Homepage verbringt und euch für unsere diversen Weiterbildungen an der Schnittstelle zwischen Recht und Wirtschaft interessiert.

Ich bin aber auch stets für konstruktives Feedback dankbar. Man lernt ja schliesslich nie aus.

 

 

Photo by Charlie Deets on Unsplash

Don't miss our updates

Don't miss our updates - sign up to our weekly newsletter.

Please wait...

Thank you for signing up to our updates!