The promotion of women is about fairness. And about money.

While women and men in non-managerial positions are almost evenly distributed, the proportion of women in top management is just 15%. Even when employees are promoted to the first management level, women are considered significantly less often than men. With the Female Leaders Seminar, the University of St.Gallen wants to counter this state of affairs. A drop in the ocean or a sustainably effective programme?

Even the rest of the world is no different, as a UN report shows: Women are still underrepresented in top management. Only 5% of Fortune 500 companies have female CEOs. The economic equality of women is good for the economy. Companies benefit from greater effectiveness and increased growth if they have women in their management teams – not just a single woman, but at least a third of the entire management team. And so the question arises, why are there not more women in management positions? And what can be done to change that?

There are various reasons for this in Switzerland. At the political level, we have a tax system that gives couples with children zero incentive for dual employment. The supply of (affordable) daycare places is also limited. And the social component also plays an important role. The man is still regarded in society as the breadwinner and the woman as the supporter.

But companies also play an equally important role. Here, the unequal distribution of part-time work on the one hand and stereotypical role expectations on the other have an influence on promotion decisions. If a woman becomes a mother, she is often automatically put into the “no interest in career” drawer, whereas a man’s career interest is usually assumed.

Many women take a break from working when they become mothers and have difficulty getting back in after a few years. With the very successful Women Back to Business Programme, the University of St.Gallen has been supporting women on their way back to work for over 10 years. But how can women be supported who have been professionally active for years but are not progressing in their careers?

Executive School Programmes:
Open Programmes

Women Back to Business

The management programme for women on the move.

Women often lack the network to advance professionally and/or are not “visible” enough to senior management. With the new “Female Leaders Seminar“, the University of St. Gallen is the only university in Switzerland to offer a seminar in German for women only who have the potential and the desire to reach the upper management levels. Leadership competence, negotiation skills, presence and impact, stakeholder management as well as storytelling are the essential components of this 3-day seminar. In addition, the participants will receive three hours of individual coaching and peer coaching, and of course they benefit from a valuable network. The seminar will take place from 21 to 23 November 2019 in St.Gallen. The seminar is a first important step in bringing more women into management positions.

Sources

Cheryl. Women CEOs of the S&P 500 (2014). http://www.catalyst.org/knowledge/women-ceos-sp-500.

McKinsey & Company, Women Matter: Time to accelerate. Ten years of insights into gender diversity 2018. https://www.empowerwomen.org/-/media/files/un%20women/empowerwomen/resources/hlp%20briefs/unhlp%20full%20report.pdf?la=en.

Universität St.Gallen, Advance Women in Business. HSG & Advance Gender Intelligence Report 2018. https://advance-hsg-report.ch.

Bei Frauenförderung geht es um Fairness. Und um Geld.

Während Frauen und Männer im Nicht-Management nahezu ausgeglichen verteilt sind, liegt der Frauenanteil im Top-Management gerade noch bei 15%. Bereits bei der Beförderung von Nicht-Kader auf die unterste Kaderstufe werden Frauen signifikant weniger berücksichtigt als Männer. Mit dem Female Leaders Seminar möchte die Universität St.Gallen diesem Zustand Gegensteuer geben. Ein Tropfen auf den heissen Stein oder ein nachhaltig wirksames Programm?

Auch im Rest der Welt sieht es nicht anders aus, wie ein UNO-Bericht zeigt: Nach wie vor sind Frauen im Top Management untervertreten. Nur bei 5% der Fortune 500 Firmen sind die CEO’s weiblich. Dabei ist die wirtschaftliche Gleichstellung der Frauen gut für die Wirtschaft. Unternehmen profitieren von einer höheren Effektivität und einem erhöhten Wachstum, wenn sie Frauen in ihren Führungsteams haben – hier ist nicht nur von einer einzelnen Frau die Rede, sondern von mindestens einem Drittel des gesamten Führungsteams. Und deshalb stellt sich die Frage, weshalb gibt es nicht mehr Frauen in Führungspositionen? Und was kann getan werden, damit sich dies ändert?

In der Schweiz gibt es verschiedene Gründe dafür. Auf der politischen Ebene ist es ein Steuersystem, das keinen Anreiz schafft, dass bei einem Paar mit Kindern Frau und Mann arbeiten gehen. Auch das Angebot an (bezahlbaren) Krippenplätzen ist beschränkt. Die soziale Komponente spielt ebenfalls eine wichtige Rolle. Der Mann wird in der Gesellschaft immer noch als Ernährer angesehen und die Frau als Unterstützerin.

Einen ebenso wichtigen Part spielen aber auch die Unternehmen. Hier hat einerseits die ungleiche Verteilung von Teilzeitarbeit und andererseits die stereotypen Rollenerwartungen einen Einfluss auf die Beförderungsentscheide. Wird eine Frau Mutter wird sie oft automatisch in die Schublade «kein Interesse an Karriere» gesteckt, wohingegen beim Mann meistens ein Karriereinteresse vorausgesetzt wird.

Viele Frauen machen eine Erwerbspause, wenn sie Mütter werden und haben nach einigen Jahren mit Unterbruch Mühe, wieder einzusteigen. Mit dem sehr erfolgreichen Women Back to Business-Programm unterstützt die Universität St.Gallen seit über 10 Jahren Frauen beim Weg zurück in die Berufswelt. Doch wie können Frauen unterstützt werden, die seit Jahren im Beruf sind, aber die Karriere nicht vorangeht?

Executive School Studiengang:
Open Programmes

Women Back to Business

Management-Weiterbildung für Wiedereinsteigerinnen oder Umsteigerinnen

Frauen fehlt oft das Netzwerk, um beruflich weiterzukommen und/oder sie sind für ihre Vorgesetzten zu wenig «sichtbar». Mit dem neuen «Female Leaders Seminar» bietet die Universität als einzige Hochschule in der Schweiz ein deutschsprachiges Seminar nur für Frauen mit dem Potenzial und dem Wunsch, auf die oberen Führungsetagen zu gelangen. Führungskompetenz, Verhandlungs- und Auftrittskompetenz oder Stakeholder Management sowie Storytelling sind die wesentlichen Inhalte des 3-tägigen Seminars. Zusätzlich erhalten die Teilnehmerinnen drei Stunden Einzelcoaching sowie ein Peer Coaching und natürlich profitieren sie von einem wertvollen Netzwerk. Das Seminar findet vom 21.-23. November 2019 in St.Gallen statt. Das Seminar ist ein erster wichtiger Schritt, um Frauen in Führungspositionen zu bringen.

Quellen

Cheryl. Women CEOs of the S&P 500 (2014). http://www.catalyst.org/knowledge/women-ceos-sp-500.

McKinsey & Company, Women Matter: Time to accelerate. Ten years of insights into gender diversity 2018. https://www.empowerwomen.org/-/media/files/un%20women/empowerwomen/resources/hlp%20briefs/unhlp%20full%20report.pdf?la=en.

Universität St.Gallen, Advance Women in Business. HSG & Advance Gender Intelligence Report 2018. https://advance-hsg-report.ch.