31. January 2018

LWOW – LawWithoutWalls

On 13/14 January 2018 the 8th year of LWOW – LawWithoutWallss KickOff took place at the University of St. Gallen.

What is it?

LawWithoutWalls (LWOW) teams professionals (academic, business, entrepreneurship, law) with roughly 100 students from more than 30 law and business schools around the world. Over four months, teams identify a problem related to law and then work remotely to create a solution (including a commercial, prototype and business plan).

LWOW refines the skills of those involved, recharges the law market with innovations across business, law and technology and revitalizes relationships with colleagues, clients and future talents across the globe.

Introduction

LWOW begins with a two-day KickOff: a collaborative, skills-intensive working session designed to challenge the way we think, the way we learn, and the way we communicate with each other. It is also designed to solve problems in law, technology, and business. Students, along with business professionals, academics, entrepreneurs, venture capitalists, and lawyers from around the world, learn how to innovate and affect change in daily life back at work or at school.

At the KickOff, LWOW engaged in interactive exercises to foster idea generation, entrepreneurism, brainstorming, teaming, self-assessment, presentation, and networking skills. The participants learn from experts in improvisation how to communicate and network more effectively in a corporate, multicultural, and collaborative environment. And importantly, over two days, in hackathon-like style, teams create and present innovations: real solutions facing law, business, and technology.

Law Without Walls 1
Law Without Walls 1

Following to the KickOff, the LWOW Community gathers online each week to debate hot issues at the intersection of law, technology, and innovation.

The LWOW experience concludes at the ConPosium (12 weeks after the KickOff) in Miami, an interactive event wherein teams display their innovations to the LWOW Community and a panel of multidisciplinary judges, including venture capitalists, who assess the substance, viability, and creativity of the projects.

Law Without Walls Ready for Take-Off
Law Without Walls Ready for Take-Off

Saturday – Day 1

Upon arrival, the international participants got to know each other at a joint breakfast. At 9.30am they all gathered in the conference hall waiting for the KickOff to begin. After the fascinating video introductory, Michele de Stefano impressed with a chipping and enthralling speech. She moderated the participants through the morning and animated the teams to engage in bonding activities, goal settings, collaboration trainings and work style explorations. The participants also dived into the LWOW purpose, methodology, roles and expectations.

Law Without Walls Kick-Off
Law Without Walls Kick-Off

Dinner party

On Saturday night, we, the University of St. Gallen, hosted a cocktail party after the very intense first day. All participants got the chance to taste a traditional St. Gallen sausage and while listening to the sweeping band Rostfrei everybody had the chance to get to know each other in a more informal way or just having fun on the dance floor.

 

  1. Don't miss our updates

    Don't miss our updates - sign up to our weekly newsletter.

    Please wait...

    Thank you for signing up to our updates!

Sunday – Day 2

After a fun night and a good night’s rest the teams put learnings from Saturday into practice by participating in a mini-hackathon related to improving legal education. A hackathon is an event where people from different disciplines and backgrounds come together to collaboratively problem solve, and transform ideas into reality. Oftentimes, hackathons can run for 24 or 48 straight hours; however, at the LWOW KickOff, our mini-hackathon only last for a good portion of Sunday. Team leaders and mentors worked with their students utilizing the new tools learned on Saturday to generate ideas, solve problems, prototype, and create a presentation.

Sunday night the LWOW KickOff 2018 ended with a cocktail party at the Lokremise in St. Gallen. After two intense working days, everybody enjoyed themselves in the beautiful location accompanied by the music of DJ Felix.

Summary

The LWOW KickOff 2018 in St. Gallen was a true success and with all participants happy, the LWOW Community is off to the next 12 weeks until the LWOW ConPosium 2018 will take place in Miami.

Great Thanks goes to the LWOW team as well as the participants of this inspiring KickOff. It was an honor to organize this fantastic event once again and it would not have been possible without your appreciated support.

Law Without Walls Participants
Law Without Walls Participants

6. Februar 2018

LWOW – LawWithoutWalls

Vom 13. bis zum 14. Januar 2018 fand an der Universität St. Gallen zum achten Mal das jährliche KickOff von LWOW – LawWithoutWallss statt.

Vom 13. bis zum 14. Januar 2018 fand an der Universität St. Gallen zum 8. Mal das jährliche KickOff von LWOW – LawWithoutWalls statt.

Worum geht es?

Bei LawWithoutWalls (LWOW) kommen Fachleute (Akademiker und Akademikerinnen, führende Köpfe aus der Wirtschaft, Unternehmer und Unternehmerinnen und Rechtsexperten und Rechtsexpertinnen) mit etwa 100 Studierenden von mehr als 30 rechts- und wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Instituten weltweit zusammen. Vier Monate lang beschäftigen sich die Teams mit einer Rechtsfrage, die sie dann an verschiedenen Orten in der Welt gemeinsam lösen (inklusive Marketing, Prototyp und Businessplan).

LWOW stärkt die Kompetenzen aller Teilnehmer und Teilnehmerinnen, gibt der Rechtswelt durch Innovationen in den Bereichen Wirtschaft, Jura und Technologie neue Impulse und bietet die Möglichkeit, mit Kollegen und Kolleginnen, Kunden und Kundinnen und aufstrebenden Talenten auf der ganzen Welt Kontakte zu knüpfen.

Einführung

LWOW beginnt mit dem zweitägigen KickOff: ein teamorientiertes Training, in dem die Teilnehmer und Teilnehmerinnen ihre Fähigkeiten ausbauen und in ihrem Denken, Lernen und Kommunizieren völlig neue Wege gehen. Zudem werden Problemstellungen in den Bereichen Recht, Technologie und Wirtschaft behandelt und gemeinsam gelöst. Zusammen mit internationalen Fachleuten aus der Wirtschaft, Akademikern und Akademikerinnen, Unternehmern und Unternehmerinnen, Wagniskapitalgebern sowie Rechtsexperten und Rechtsexpertinnen lernen die Studierenden, Innovationen voranzutreiben und den Alltag an der Universität oder am Arbeitsplatz aktiv mitzugestalten.

Beim KickOff profitieren die Studierenden von interaktiven Übungen zur Förderung von Ideenfindung, Unternehmergeist, Brainstorming, Teambildung, Selbsteinschätzung, Präsentation und Networking. Die Teilnehmer und Teilnehmerinnen lernen von Experten und Expertinnen im Bereich der Improvisation, wie man in einem unternehmerischen, multikulturellen und teamorientierten Umfeld effektiver kommuniziert und sich vernetzt. Im Stile eines Hackathons erarbeiten und präsentieren die Teams innerhalb von zwei Tagen innovative Ansätze: echte Lösungen in den Bereichen Recht, Wirtschaft und Technik.

Law Without Walls Ready for Take-Off
Law Without Walls Ready for Take-Off

Nach dem KickOff trifft sich die LWOW-Community einmal pro Woche online, um über aktuelle Fragen im Spannungsfeld zwischen Recht, Technologie und Innovation zu diskutieren.

Am Ende des LWOW-Projekts steht das ConPosium (12 Wochen nach dem KickOff) in Miami, ein interaktiver Event, bei dem die Teams der LWOW-Community ihre innovativen Konzepte vorstellen. Mit dabei sind ausgewählte Juroren und Jurorinnen verschiedener Disziplinen, u.a. Wagniskapitalgeber, die die Substanz, Durchführbarkeit und Kreativität der Projekte bewerten.

Samstag – Tag 1

Nach der Ankunft lernten sich die internationalen Teilnehmer und Teilnehmerinnen bei einem gemeinsamen Frühstück kennen. Um 9:30 Uhr versammelten sich alle im Konferenzsaal und warteten auf den Beginn des KickOff. Nach der Videoeinführung begeisterte Michele de Stefano mit einer packenden Rede. Sie führte die verschiedenen Gruppen durch den Morgen und animierte sie, mit Teamgeist ihre Ziele festzusetzen, die Zusammenarbeit untereinander zu üben und die für sie beste Arbeitsweise zu entdecken. Die Teilnehmer und Teilnehmerinnen lernten auch das LWOW-Projekt selbst besser kennen: seine Ziele, seine Methodik, sowie Rollen und Erwartungen.

Law Without Walls Participants
Law Without Walls Participants

Dinnerparty

Am Samstagabend luden wir, die Universität St. Gallen, nach einem spannenden ersten Tag zur Cocktailparty ein. Die Teilnehmer und Teilnehmerinnen probierten die traditionelle St. Galler Bratwurst und nutzten die Gelegenheit, die anderen in ungezwungener Atmosphäre kennenzulernen. Zu der schwungvollen Musik von Rostfrei durfte auch getanzt werden!

Sonntag – Tag 2

Nach dem unterhaltsamen Abend versammelten sich die Teams am nächsten Tag gut ausgeschlafen und voller Tatendrang. In einer Art Mini-Hackathon setzten sie die bereits erworbenen Kenntnisse in die Praxis um und erweiterten ihr juristisches Fachwissen. Ein Hackathon ist ein Event, bei dem sich Menschen aus verschiedenen Fachrichtungen und mit unterschiedlichem Hintergrund treffen, um gemeinsam an der Lösung von Problemen zu arbeiten und Ideen in die Tat umzusetzen. Hackathons dauern oft 24 oder 48 Stunden am Stück; beim LWOW KickOff füllte unser kleiner Mini-Hackathon jedoch nur einen guten Teil des Sonntags. Die Teamleiter und Teilnehmerinnen sowie die Mentoren und Mentorinnen arbeiteten zusammen mit ihren Studierenden und wendeten dabei die am Samstag gelernten Techniken an, um neue Ideen zu sammeln, Probleme zu lösen, Prototypen zu erstellen und eine Präsentation vorzubereiten.

Am Sonntagabend endete das LWOW KickOff 2018 mit einer Cocktailparty in der Lokremise in St. Gallen. Nach zwei spannenden und lehrreichen Arbeitstagen genossen die Teilnehmer und Teilnehmerinnen die wunderschöne Location und die Musik von DJ Felix.

Law Without Walls 1
Law Without Walls 1

Zusammenfassung

Der LWOW KickOff 2018 in St. Gallen war ein voller Erfolg. Die gesamte LWOW-Community ist jetzt zurück in der Heimat und wartet gespannt auf das LWOW ConPosium 2018, das in 12 Wochen in Miami stattfindet.

Unser Dank geht an das LWOW-Team sowie die Teilnehmer und Teilnehmerinnen dieses inspirierenden KickOffs. Es war uns eine Ehre, diesen wunderbaren Event ein weiteres Mal zu organisieren. All das wäre ohne die tatkräftige Unterstützung des LWOW-Teams nicht möglich gewesen.

Law Without Walls Kick-Off
Law Without Walls Kick-Off