9. July 2019

Effective compliance is contingent on the knowledge of the applicable rules. But is that all?

Prof. Dr. Bruno Mascello speaks about the successful implementation of compliance. But what exactly does this mean? What do we have to bear in mind, and how do I communicate the provisions and rules to my employees?

We often hear that no entrepreneurial activities can be conceived without compliance any longer. But is this really true, and what does compliance mean? Let’s have a look to some views.

  • Compliance only concerns adherence to laws, doesn’t it? This statement is bound to be too narrow, for adherence to rules covers all applicable regulations, i.e. generally valid statutory and regulatory rules, specific industrial directives and also very special provisions which are only applicable to individual companies!
  • But compliance only concerns big corporations, doesn’t it? No, it doesn’t; the media’s concentration on big corporations blinds us to the fact that SMEs and sole proprietorships have always had to comply with the rules as well and will of course have to do so in the future!
  • The media show it quite clearly: compliance only concerns banks and the financial world, doesn’t it? This opinion, too, is erroneous, for correct rule behaviour is also expected from industrial and service companies!
  • When all is said and done, compliance really only concerns the compliance department, which has to ensure appropriate conduct for everyone, right? No, this statement is not correct, either! Correct behaviour is not merely expected of the CEO or the compliance officer, but from each and every employee at all levels of the hierarchy right down to the most junior employee.

Interim result: by now, compliance has arrived in all the reference groups in the economy. But how can we actually ensure the compliance that is demanded of us?

Executive School Programmes:
Law & Management

Compliance Management

Learn the safe handling of rules and the topic of compliance

When we speak of companies which implement compliance successfully, then they satisfy the relevant requirements in all three areas:

(1) First of all, they must always have an up-to-date overview of the laws and regulations that are relevant to them and of any other applicable rules. Thus they do not only understand what specific laws are relevant to their industry and must be enforced; rather, they are also aware of what other general statutory and regulatory provisions are applicable to them.

(2) In addition, they know how to convey this knowledge to all their employees in an easily comprehensible way with practical implementation measures. The goal is to ensure that employees do not merely understand the rules but are actually able to implement them. This is often achieved by information sent by e-mail, but sometimes digital tools must be used, and in certain cases, training sessions in small groups or hierarchy-specific instructions are required.

(3) Awareness of the law and communicating it properly is not sufficient, if we fail to “reach” employees. Only when a company is able to convince its employees that it is the best thing for the company and its image to comply with the said rules, i.e. when each employee wants to adhere to the rules voluntarily, only then will a company also develop a positive compliance culture which will make adherence to the rules sustainable.

Result: the point of departure is the knowledge of the relevant provisions and rules, and this is applicable to all hierarchic levels of a company.

About the author
Prof. Dr. Bruno Mascello Vice Director of the Executive School of Management, Technology and Law at the University of St.Gallen, Director of the executive programme for lawyers “Management for the Legal Profession (MLP-HSG)”, attorney at law, lecturer and author dealing with various topics at the intersection of law and management.

9. Juli 2019

Wirksame Compliance verlangt, die anwendbaren Regeln zu kennen. Aber ist das schon alles?

Prof. Dr. Bruno Mascello spricht über erfolgreiches Umsetzen von Compliance. Aber was heisst das genau? An was muss alles gedacht werden und wie vermittle ich die Vorschriften und Regeln an die Mitarbeitenden?

Compliance kann aus keiner unternehmerischen Tätigkeit mehr weggedacht werden, hört man oft. Aber stimmt das wirklich, und was ist Compliance überhaupt?

  • Compliance betrifft nur das Einhalten von Gesetzten, oder? Diese Aussage ist sicher zu eng. Denn Regeltreue erfasst sämtliche geltenden Regelungen, also allgemeingültige gesetzliche und regulatorische Regeln, spezifische Branchenrichtlinien und auch ganz spezielle nur für das jeweilige Unternehmen geltende Vorschriften!
  • Aber Compliance betrifft nur Grossunternehmen, oder? Nein, die mediale Konzentration auf grosse Unternehmen täuscht darüber hinweg, dass sich auch KMUs und Einzelfirmen schon immer an Regeln halten mussten und natürlich auch künftig müssen!
  • Die Medien zeigen es doch deutlich: Compliance betrifft nur die Banken und die Finanzwelt, oder? Auch diese Meinung stimmt nicht, denn ein korrektes Regelverhalten wird genauso von Industrie- und Dienstleistungsunternehmen erwartet!
  • Hand aufs Herz, Compliance betrifft doch wirklich nur die Complianceabteilung, und diese muss das angemessene Verhalten für alle sicherstellen, oder? Nein, auch diese Aussage stimmt nicht! Korrektes Verhalten wird nicht nur vom CEO oder dem Compliance Officer, sondern auf allen Hierarchiestufen bis hin zum Sachbearbeiter verlangt.

Zwischenergebnis: Compliance ist mittlerweile bei allen Bezugsgruppen in der Wirtschaft sichtbar angekommen. Aber wie stellt man eigentlich die geforderte Compliance sicher?

Executive School Studiengang:
Law & Management

Compliance Management

Den sicheren Umgang mit Regeln und dem Thema Compliance lernen.

Wenn man von Unternehmen spricht, die Compliance erfolgreich umsetzen, dann erfüllen diese die gestellten Anforderungen in allen drei Teilbereichen:

(1) Zunächst müssen sie stets einen aktuellen Überblick über die für sie relevanten Gesetze, regulatorischen Vorschriften und alle anderen geltenden Regeln haben. Sie verstehen also nicht nur, welche branchenspezifischen Gesetze relevant sind und vollzogen werden müssen, sondern sie wissen auch, welche anderen generellen gesetzlichen und regulatorischen Bestimmungen für sie anwendbar sind.

(2) Dann verstehen sie es, dieses Wissen in leicht verständlicher Art mit praktischen Umsetzungsmassnahmen sämtlichen Mitarbeitenden des Unternehmens so zu vermitteln. Ziel ist es, dass die Mitarbeitenden die Regeln nicht nur verstehen, sondern auch tatsächlich und effektiv umsetzen können. Hierfür reichen oft per E-Mail zugestellte Informationen, manchmal müssen hierzu aber elektronische Tools eingesetzt werden, und in bestimmten Fällen braucht es sogar Trainings in Kleingruppen oder hierarchiespezifische Anleitungen.

(3) Das Recht zu kennen und es auch richtig zu vermitteln reicht aber nicht, wenn man die Mitarbeiter nicht «erreicht». Erst also wenn das Unternehmen seine Mitarbeiter davon überzeugen kann, dass es für das Unternehmen und seine Aussenwirkung das Beste ist, die besagten Regeln einzuhalten, d.h. wenn sich jeder Mitarbeiter von sich aus regelkonform verhalten will, nur dann wird ein Unternehmen auch eine positive Compliance-Kultur entwickeln, die das Einhalten von Regeln nachhaltig tragen wird.

Ergebnis: Die Ausgangslage bildet also das Kennen der relevanten Vorschriften und Regeln, und das gilt für alle Hierarchiestufen eines Unternehmens.

Über die Autorin / den Autor
Prof. Dr. Bruno Mascello Vice Director of the Executive School of Management, Technology and Law at the University of St.Gallen, Director of the executive programme for lawyers “Management for the Legal Profession (MLP-HSG)”, attorney at law, lecturer and author dealing with various topics at the intersection of law and management.